Notes That Fit

Have you ever found yourself repeating the same daily routine and not feeling satisfied with the way you are living your life? As teenagers, it can be really hard to find the time to balance schoolwork, maintain a social life, spend quality time with family, excel in your sport; the list can go on. As we grow older, we are simply piled with more responsibilities and required to fulfill the expectations that are given to us.

9-clifton-bieundurry[title_TBC]

Clifton Bieundurry, Russell James, russelljames.com, CC-BY-2.0

Especially in our society today, I find myself surrounded by people that either live their life to the fullest, or they live according to their ‘dream plan’. Unfortunately nowadays, it is rare to find many kids that can balance all of the different areas in their lives. It is quite saddening to see the amount of people not genuinely happy with their life. For the kids that live according to their ‘dream plan’ and allow school to take over their lives, you may find the genuinity in their smile and laughter gradually fading. On the other hand, kids that live without a care in the world may end up going down the wrong path, essentially “ruining their future”. Now, this is not always the case but from my personal experience, this is what I have noticed.

For the past couple of weeks, my AP English class has been working on our descriptive essays—revising, revising, perfecting! After correcting my drafts, I’ve noticed that the tiny, significant details are usually within a huge idea or concept. When we were assigned the descriptive essay, I knew I wanted to describe the relationship my father and I had. At first, I had my big ideas of what I wanted to write about, but then I asked myself, “How am I going to make this father-daughter relationship special? How can I describe the feelings towards my dad so my audience can get a little glimpse of our personal relationship, not the generic, healthy father-daughter relationship?” Then it hit me. I had to provide little details that actually mattered. How would these details be significant to my message? What are the details aimed to!? The questions running around my head flowed down into my hands and onto my keyboard. After writing all of my feelings down, I revised it in order to create personal details that would be understandable to my readers, but also distinctive.

These kind of little yet significant descriptions remind me of how kids are. We have this idea of how our life is going to be and some of us work tirelessly in order for it to happen but the reality is, our life will never go according to our plan. There will always be moments where you feel out of place, confused, frustrated, etc. and life will throw bullets at you; however, just think about the little details of the dream that you want. Some of us want to be teenagers forever and ‘live in the moment’, while some of us want to be adults and grow up too fast. There are pros and cons for each dream, but I think if we want the young generation to learn how to balance their lives, we need to teach them the idea of discovering the little details of each “dream”. If you live in the moment, how will this affect you? Yes, it can be fun but think about the gradual impact it will have on your life? Do these little details contribute to your future? How about revolving your life around schoolwork? How will this affect you? If stressing out about your life and working too much starts to take a toll on your life, how will this help the outcome of your life?

Think about the little details and question yourself: Am I living the life I want to live? If not, how can I change this?

Leave a Reply

